Iowa Board of Regents

Regents History: November 14-15, 1974

Board Membership

  • Mary Louise Peterson, President, Harlan
  • Ray Bailey, Milford
  • John Baldridge, Chariton
  • Stanley Barber, Wellman
  • S.J. Brownlee, Emmetsburg
  • Margaret Collison, Oskaloosa
  • Donald Shaw, Davenport
  • Harry Slife, Cedar Falls
  • Steven Zumbach, West Des Moines

The Board reaffirmed its position in opposition to the establishment of a second state medical school in Des Moines. It was noted that the Board had not given a position on the issue since 1968, when Dr. Robert Hardin, vice president for medical affairs at the University of Iowa, offered a written report on the issue. The report, presented at the September 1968 meeting, stated Hardin’s opinion on the matter was “an unqualified NO,” and was unanimously adopted as official Board of Regents policy. In the years between 1968 and 1974, members of the Iowa General Assembly had expressed interest in using state tax dollars to establish a medical school in Des Moines, with the 64th GA going so far as to appropriate $500,000 “to acquire land and buildings and for the development of plans… for a new medical school…” Regents Shaw, Bailey and Barber indicated varying levels of support for a second medical school, with President Petersen taking “direct opposition” to this stance.

The South Pavilion addition to the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics was approved to begin construction. Additionally, the Pavilion addition was named the Roy J. Carver Pavilion in recognition of Carver’s contribution toward the cost of its construction. President Petersen thanked Carver for his “leadership, generosity and foresight.” The Pavilion was officially dedicated in 1978. The Carver Trust, formed in 1981 following Carver’s death, has been a generous supporter of the University of Iowa, resulting in the naming of the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine.

© 2024 Iowa Board of Regents. All rights reserved.