Iowa Board of Regents

4 faculty members recognized with UI’s highest teaching honor

Four University of Iowa faculty members are recipients of the 2023 President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence, recognizing their exceptional and ongoing contributions to student learning and success.

Established in 2004 by the UI Council on Teaching, the President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence is the university’s highest honor for teaching. Each year, the council selects three clinical-track or tenure-track faculty members and one instructional-track or adjunct faculty member to receive the award.

This year’s recipients are Mitchell Kelly, clinical professor of learning sciences and educational psychology in the College of Education; David Murhammer, professor of chemical and biochemical engineering in the College of Engineering; Lorie Reins-Schweer, professor of legal analysis, writing and research in the College of Law; and Joseph Yockey, David H. Vernon Professor of Law in the College of Law.

The four awardees embody the university’s commitment to excellence in teaching and learning and serve as inspirational examples of the impact the UI faculty can have on their students.

Read more from Iowa Now

© 2024 Iowa Board of Regents. All rights reserved.