Iowa Board of Regents

Regents Awards for Faculty And Staff

Five faculty and four staff members from Iowa State University were honored with Regents Awards for Faculty and Staff Excellence at the Feb. 23 Board of Regents Meeting. Iowa State President Steven Leath joined Regents President Bruce Rastetter to present the awards. 

Five faculty, listed below, were honored. Recipients must have been employed by Iowa State for a minimum of 15 years and achieved distinction in at least two of the following areas: Teaching, research or creative activity, extension/professional practice, and service.

Hector Avalos, professor of philosophy and religious studies. Played a major role in the founding and development of Iowa State’s Latino/Latina Studies program. 

Elizabeth Huff-Lonergan, professor of animal science. Lauded for her service as a National Science Foundation-funded ADVANCE Professor and Faculty Fellow, working to recruit and retain women and underrepresented minorities in all faculty ranks.

Daniel Russell, professor of human development and family studies. His work on loneliness, social support, and resilience has garnered more than $32 million in grant funding for the university.

Kevin Schalinske, professor of food science and human nutrition. Project director for the USDA National Needs Fellowship, which supports three Ph.D fellows in the graduate nutrition program.

L. Keith Woo, professor of chemistry. Internationally recognized expert in metalloporphyrin chemistry and catalysis.

In addition, four staff members were honored. Regents Awards for Staff Excellence recognize staff contributions and service to the university, community, and broader society. Awardees must have been members of the university staff for at least five years.

Sarah Bade, assistant scientist in the Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory. Played the central role in Iowa State’s stellar response and support of Iowa’s poultry industries during the 2015 Avian Influenza outbreak.

Renee Harris, administration specialist in the Department of Chemistry. Played a pivotal role in the department’s interactions with alumni and serves as “the de facto face of the department” according to her nominator.

Robert Steffes, program manager for the Institute of Transportation. Recognized for his years of service, mechanical engineering background, and his impact on student success in the lab.

Jeanne Wempe Steward, assistant scientist for the Nutrition and Wellness Research Center. Recognized for her extensive contributions to the research mission of the department.

The Regents Awards for Faculty and Staff Excellence were established by the Board of Regents to recognize and promote excellence in the work of the faculty and staff at the Regents Institutions. Recipients earn Regents Awards for excellence in the performance of their duties in service to the university, the students, and the state of Iowa.

© 2024 Iowa Board of Regents. All rights reserved.