Iowa Board of Regents

Regents History: December 13-14, 2000

Board Membership

  • Owen Newlin, President, Des Moines
  • Lisa Ahrens Peterson, Osage
  • David Fisher, West Des Moines
  • Clarkson Kelly, Jr., Charles City
  • Ellengray Kennedy, Bancroft
  • Roger Lande, Muscatine
  • David Neil, LaPorte City
  • Beverly Smith, Waterloo
  • Deborah Turner, Mason City

Dr. P. Barry Butler was appointed dean of the University of Iowa College of Engineering. Butler, who joined the University of Iowa faculty in 1984 as an assistant professor, would eventually serve as executive vice president and provost at Iowa before becoming the sixth president of Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in February 2017.

The College of Liberal Arts at the University of Iowa was renamed the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS). Including the word “sciences” in the name of the college, it was argued, would “better represent the comprehensive nature of the college.”  

The Board approved the construction of a new facility to house the Iowa State University College of Business, which had previously been spread throughout many buildings on campus. The Gerdin Business Building was completed January 6, 2004 and houses the newly renamed Debbie and Jerry Ivy College of Business.

Phase one of Iowa State's “Union Drive Neighborhood” project was approved after much discussion. The project included total demolition of Westgate, Knapp and Storms Halls, partial demolition of Helser and Friley Halls, and the construction of two new dormitories and a community center. These new dorms became Eaton Hall, which opened in 2002, and Martin Hall, which opened in 2004. The Union Drive Community Center was completed in 2004.

The Board approved plans for a major addition to UNI’s McCollum Science Hall, which was completed October 10, 2003. Plans for the addition included numerous windows to offset the windowless original building. Former UNI Dean of Natural Sciences Clifford G. McCollum, for whom the Board had named the original building in 1984, was present for the addition’s opening ceremony, remarking to the students present “You deserve this facility and I know you’ll make it glow.”

© 2024 Iowa Board of Regents. All rights reserved.