Iowa Board of Regents

Iowa State University Presidential Search Committee

April 20, 2017

The Board of Regents, State of Iowa has announced the names of the 21-person Iowa State University Presidential Search and Screen Committee. The committee is charged with identifying finalists for the Board’s consideration to become the next president of Iowa State University.

The committee will be co-chaired by Dan Houston, President and CEO of Principal Financial Group, and Luis Rico-Gutierrez, Dean of the Iowa State College of Design.

“This committee represents the faculty, staff, students, and alumni of Iowa State University and the Ames community,” said Board of Regents Executive Director Robert Donley. “Selecting the next president of Iowa State University is important work that the selection committee takes very seriously.”

The committee consists of eight members of the ISU faculty and two students in addition to representatives from the ISU Alumni Association, the ISU Foundation, ISU Staff, and the Ames community. Regents Patty Cownie, Sherry Bates, Milt Dakovich, and Nancy Boettger also will serve on the committee with Donley and Board of Regents Chief Operating Officer Mark Braun serving in ex-officio non-voting roles.
The committee is scheduled to hold its first meeting in late May. The Board expects to appoint the 16th president of Iowa State in early October.


Name Title Representing
Dan Houston Co-Chair, President and CEO, Principal Financial Group Member of the Public
Luis Rico-Gutierrez Co-Chair, Dean College of Design
Tim Day Faculty Senate President Faculty
Jessica Bell President P&S Staff 
Cody West President Student Government
Vivek J. Lawana President Graduate Students
Steven Freeman University Professor Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering
Brent Shanks Professor of Engineering Chemical and Biological Engineering
Ann Marie Fiore University Professor Dept. of Apparel, Events & Hosp. Mgmt.
Monic P. Behnken Associate Professor Department of Sociology
Jessica Ward Assistant Professor Veterinary Clinical Sciences
Charles (Brad) Shrader Morrill Professor Management
Thea Oberlander Retired Alumni, College of Business ISU Alumni Association
Steve Zumbach Attorney ISU Alumni Association
Ric Jurgens Retired Chairman, CEO and President, Hy-Vee ISU Foundation
Gary J. Streit Attorney ISU Foundation
Tom Hill Retired, Senior Policy Advisor Member of the Public
Patty Cownie Regent Board of Regents
Sherry Bates Regent Board of Regents
Milt Dakovich Regent Board of Regents
Nancy Boettger Regent Board of Regents
Rachel Boon Interim Chief Academic Officer Ex-Officio/Non-Voting
Mark Braun Chief Operating Officer Ex-Officio/Non-Voting


Draft Timeline:

Date Task
May 1 Anticipated award of search firm contract
May Search committee formed, search website goes live, open forums with ISU and community
Late May/Early June Search committee meets
June 6-8 Board of Regents Meeting
Early/Mid July Online and print advertisements placed
August 1-2 Board of Regents Telephonic Meeting
Mid August Deadline for best consideration
Mid/Late August Search committee meets to identify semi-finalists
Early September Search firm conducts reference checks
Mid September Semi-finalist interviews at neutral sites
Mid/Late September Search firm conducts due diligence
Late September (9/25 - 9/29) Finalists scheduled for on-campus visits. Public feedback
Early October Special meeting of the Board of Regents to appoint the 16th President of Iowa State University

« Back

© 2024 Iowa Board of Regents. All rights reserved.