What is the Board of Regents?

Created by the Iowa General Assembly in 1909, the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, is a group of nine citizens who govern three public educational institutions in the state through policymaking, coordination, and oversight, as provided by law. The Board enhances the quality of life for Iowans by maintaining the educational quality, accessibility, and public service activities of Iowa's three public universities – the University of Iowa, Iowa State University, and the University of Northern Iowa.

« Back