**Contact: Brock Ascher** 

## **MINUTES OF OCTOBER 23, 2017, BOARD MEETING**

# ALUMNI CENTER, UELNER EXECUTIVE BOARD ROOM IOWA STATE UNIVERSITY AMES. IOWA

Board Members October 23, 2017

Michael Richards. President Present Patty Cownie, President Pro Tem Present **Sherry Bates** Present Nancy Boettger Present Milt Dakovich Present Nancy Dunkel Present Rachael Johnson Present Larry McKibben Present Subhash Sahai Present

## **Board Office**

Andrea Anania, Brock Ascher, Brad Berg, Rachel Boon, Mark Braun, Mary Braun, Aimee Claeys, Laura Dickson, Kristin Failor, Josh Lehman, John Nash, Jason Pontius, Keith Saunders, Patrice Sayre.

## **Others**

Sonny Ramaswamy Pamela Whitten Wendy Wintersteen

## Call to Order for October 23, 2017

President Richards called the Board of Regents meeting to order at 8 a.m.

## Roll Call:

	Bates	Boettger	Cownie	Dakovich	Dunkel	Johnson	McKibben	Richards	Sahai
Present	х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	х	х	х
Absent									

#### **Closed Session**

✓ MOVED by BOETTGER, SECONDED by COWNIE, to enter into closed session in accordance with <a href="Lowa Code">Lowa Code</a> § 21.5.1.i for the purposes of evaluating the professional competency of individuals whose appointments or hiring is being considered. Each individual has requested that his or her professional competency be evaluated in closed session.

	Bates	Boettger	Cownie	Dakovich	Dunkel	Johnson	McKibben	Richards	Sahai
Aye	х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	х	Х	Х
Nay									

MOTION APPROVED by ROLL CALL.

The Board convened in closed session at 8:02 a.m. The Board reconvened in open session at 4:28 p.m.

# **Appointment of the Iowa State University President**

✓ MOVED by BOETTGER, SECONDED by MCKIBBEN, to appoint Wendy Wintersteen as President of Iowa State University, effective November 20, 2017, and approve the following employment terms; Provide a 5-year term of appointment, provide the following annual salaries − \$525,000 in year one, \$550,000 in year two and \$590,000 in year three − and authorize a three-year deferred compensation plan with the following annual contributions − \$125,000 in year one, \$150,000 in year two and \$200,000 in year three.

	Bates	Boettger	Cownie	Dakovich	Dunkel	Johnson	McKibben	Richards	Sahai
Aye	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	х	Х	х
Nay									

MOTION APPROVED by ROLL CALL.

✓ MOVED by COWNIE, SECONDED by BATES, to dissolve the ISU search committee.

	Bates	Boettger	Cownie	Dakovich	Dunkel	Johnson	McKibben	Richards	Sahai
Aye	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	x	Х	Х
Nay									

MOTION APPROVED by ROLL CALL.

## **Adjourn**

President Richards adjourned the meeting at 4:32 p.m.