The Board

The Board of Regents, State of Iowa, is a group of nine citizens who govern five public educational institutions in the state through policymaking, coordination, and oversight, as provided by law. 

The institutions include Iowa's three public universities – the University of Iowa, Iowa State University, and the University of Northern Iowa; and two special preschool/K-12th grade schools – the Iowa School for the Deaf and the Iowa Braille and Sight Saving School.

Our Mission

The Board of Regents, working through Iowa’s public universities and special schools:

  • Provides high-quality accessible education to students.
  • Engages in high-quality research, scholarship, and creative activities to enhance the quality of life for Iowans and society in general.
  • Provides needed public services.
  • Creates and supports economic development in partnership with public and private sectors.