## Governing lowa's public universities and special schools

University of Iowa
Iowa State University
University of Northern Iowa
Iowa School for the Deaf
Iowa Braille and Sight Saving School
Lakeside Laboratory Regents Resource Center
Northwest Iowa Regents Resource Center
Quad-Cities Graduate Center
Southwest Iowa Regents Resource Center



Bruce L. Rastetter, President, Alden
Katie S. Mulholland, President Pro Tem, Marion
Nicole C. Carroll, Carroll
Milt J. Dakovich, Waterloo
Robert N. Downer, Iowa City
Ruth R. Harkin, Cumming
Larry E. McKibben, Marshalltown
Subhash C. Sahai, Webster City
Hannah M. Walsh, Spirit Lake

Robert Donley, Executive Director

February 4, 2014

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Robert Donley, Executive Director, Board of Regents, State of Iowa, (515) 281-3934

## First Meeting of Superintendent Search Committee

(URBANDALE, Iowa) – The first meeting of the Board of Regents Superintendent Search Committee will take place on Friday, February 7, at noon, in the Hancock Room of the West Des Moines Sheraton Hotel, 1800 – 50<sup>th</sup> Street, West Des Moines, Iowa.

The meeting will include a discussion with representatives of Ray and Associates, Inc., of Cedar Rapids, the search firm selected to assist with the search. In addition, Regents General Counsel will discuss the Iowa Open Records and Open Meetings laws with the search committee.

The committee is searching for a new superintendent for the lowa School for the Deaf in Council Bluffs, and the lowa Braille and Sight Saving School in Vinton, to succeed Superintendent Patrick Clancy who plans to retire on June 30, 2014. The Board appointed Rose Vasquez to serve as chair of the search committee at its meeting on December 4, 2013. The remaining members of the search committee are as follows:

Nicole Carroll Board of Regents, State of Iowa

Dana Cheek Parent

John Cool Iowa School for the Deaf – Assistant Administrator
Barb Guy Department of Education – Director of Special Education

Kenda Jochimsen Iowa Vocational Rehabilitation – Bureau Chief

Kate Kasal Iowa School for the Deaf – Faculty Theresa Legg Deaf Services Commission of Iowa

Dixie Meyer Parent

Kathy Miller Iowa School for the Deaf – Staff

Brook Nolin Parent

Doug Penno Keystone AEA – Director of Special Education

Susan Rolinger Parent

Karrie Schloemer Iowa Educational Services for the Blind and Visually Impaired – Faculty

Richard Sorey Iowa Department of the Blind – Director

Gwen Woodward Iowa Educational Services for the Blind and Visually Impaired – Regional

Director, West

**Ex-Officio/Non-Voting Members** 

Bob Donley Executive Director, Board of Regents
Diana Gonzalez Chief Academic Officer, Board of Regents

\* \* \* \* \*